

Minutes of Tuesday, June 10, 2008

1. Call to Order:

Chair-Elect Sharon Butcher called the meeting to order at 9:05 a.m. in the University Center Rose Room. Members present: Sue Bailey, Sharon Butcher, Bob DeLong, Steve Fesler, Diane Guess, Verna Harvey, Lisa Hayes, Bob Lee, Regina Lee, Yvonne LeRoy-Landers, Shirley McClain, Ben McCranie, Terence Sullivan, Kathy Sundin, John Wright, Shana Yorkey, and Tim Yorkey. Guest attending was Jay Rickman, incoming Faculty Senate Executive Secretary. The following members were absent: Denise Bogart, Bobby Flowers (excused, Proxy-Sharon Butcher), Mike Hamm (excused), Richard Hammond (excused, John Wright-Proxy), Judy Hart (excused), Jennifer Harvey (excused, Diane Guess-Proxy), and Mike McKinley) (excused, Diane Guess -Proxy). * Signifies non-elected members. **Please send proxy if you can not attend a meeting. Reminder postcards will be sent a few days before each COSA meeting.**

SPECIAL ORDER OF THE DAY: Special Recognition was given to Bob Lee, Steve Fesler, Shana Yorkey, and Diane Guess in honor of their dedication to COSA.

3. <u>Approval of the Minutes from May 13, 2008</u>:

. Minutes were distributed and approved.

4. <u>Approval of Treasurer's Report</u>: Yvonne LeRoy-Landers

Recognition

foundation account balance is \$12,708.32. She stated the Fund 10 Account balance is \$104.44. It was discussed on what to spend the remaining balance on to zero out the account. A suggestion to purchase note cards was made.

5. <u>Standing Committee Reports</u>:

- A. Membership Committee Bobby Flowers
 - 1. Employee of the Semester (EOS) Denise Bogart
 - Spring 2008 EOS will be presented at September 9th COSA meeting.
 - 2. Elections Mike McKinley

Elections were conducted and completed for the upcoming year by Bob DeLong and Diane Guess. Sue Bailey was nominated and elected as Secretary. Terence Sullivan was nominated and elected as Parliamentarian. Judy Hart was nominated and elected as Treasurer. John Wright and Bob DeLong were nominated for Public Relations Officer. John Wright was elected by the majority of votes. Verna Harvey and Regina Lee were nominated for Goal Monitor. Regina Lee declined because she wanted to learn more about COSA first before Harvey was elected as Goal Monitor. Congratulations to

you all!

B. Staff Appreciation Day Committee (SAD) Sharon Butcher

Committee has not met yet. Date for SAD needs to be set.

11. <u>Adjournment</u> – The meeting was adjourned at 10:13 a.m.

Next COSA meeting is July 8, 2008 in the U.C. Rose Room at 9:00 a.m.

Respectfully submitted by

Diane Guess, Secretary for COSA

Don't forget to respond after you have read the minutes. Your approval is needed and appreciated!!!